Our 33 Full and 12 Associate Members, along with 16 Fellows are organized in the following research groups:

    Three multi-investigator groups that operate principally in the TB/HIV space: 

    Three extramural units of the SAMRC directed by IDM Members: 

    Two SAMRC Collaborating Centres on TB or HIV research, with collaborators based in other UCT departments or South African institutions:

    Other research entities:

    Five Research Chairs awarded under the National Research Foundation's South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI): 

    Further areas of research expertise include: