Professor Wendy Burgers

HIV/TB Immunology group

Division of Medical Virology

Professor, Division of Medical Virology, Department of Pathology; Member, Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IDM), Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town; contributing investigator, the Wellcome Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Africa (CIDRI-Africa). Current EDCTP Senior Fellow. Former Wellcome Trust Intermediate Fellow in Public Health and Tropical Medicine.  

Wendy Burgers' research focuses on understanding cellular immunity to infectious pathogens. The work is characterising cellular immunity to SARS-CoV-2 after infection and vaccination, and identifying immune defects in tuberculosis (TB) response during HIV co-infection. She directs the Clinical Cellular Immunology Platform, a hub for vaccine evaluation (T cell immunogenicity endpoints), clinical immunology research and capacity building, for new and existing pathogens and future epidemics and pandemics.

The work in the laboratory is funded by the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Platform (EDCTP), Horizon Europe, CEPI, Bill andEDCTP

Melinda Gates Foundation, South African Medical Research Council (SA MRC), PRF and several commercial partnerships. This project is part of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP2) programme supported by the European Union (TMA2016SF-1535-CaTCH-22):

Selected publications:

See publications and profile on Research Gate.

Contact details:

Room 3.36.1, Level 3, Entrance 4, Falmouth Building
Division of Medical Virology, Department of Pathology
Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine
UCT Faculty of Health Sciences,Observatory 7925
South Africa

Tel:  +27 21 406 6090
Fax: +27 21 406 6682

Alternate site: 

 Group Members:

Members Position
Dr Roanne Keeton Junior Research Fellow
Dr Marius Tincho Post-doctoral scientist
Dr Paballo Mosala Post-doctoral scientist
Rofhiwa Nesamari PhD student
Ntombi Benede PhD student
Akiko Suzuki PhD student
Riyaadh Ahmed PhD student
Valencia Chauke MSc Student
Amkele Ngomti Scientific Officer
Sohair Geyer Scientific Officer
Avril Walters Scientific Officer
Anathi Nkayi Scientific Officer
Siyabulela Magugu Scientific Officer
Asiphe Besethi Scientific Officer
Richard Baguma Scientific Officer (part-time)


Alex Sette, La Jolla Institute for Immunology, United States of America (USA)
John Wherry, University of Pennsylvania, USA 
Antonio Bertoletti, Duke-NUS Medical School, Singapore
Lyle McKinnon, University of Manitoba, Canada
Prof Tom Harrison and Rachel Wake, St George’s University of London, United Kingdom

Ntobeko Ntusi, Dept of Medicine, UCT
Catherine Riou, IDM and Division of Medical Virology, UCT
Carolyn Williamson, IDM and Division of Medical Virology, UCT
Linda-Gail Bekker, Desmond Tutu HIV Centre, UCT
Robert Wilkinson, IDM and CIDRI-Africa, UCT
Glenda Gray, SA MRC
Penny Moore, The National Institute For Communicable Diseases of South Africa
Alex Sigal, Africa Health Research Institute
Al Leslie, Africa Health Research Institute
Lee Fairlie, University of Witwatersrand 
Nigel Garrett, CAPRISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Salim Abdool Karim, CAPRISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal
Gavin Churchyard, Aurum Institute