Dr Joseph Valentino Raimondo

Neurophysiology Research Group

Dr Joseph Valentino Raimondo MBChB (Cape Town) MSc (Oxford) DPhil Neuroscience (Oxford)

Senior lecturer, Division of Cell Biology, Department of Human Biology, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town (UCT); Member, Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IDM) and the Neuroscience Institute (NI).

Joseph Raimondo is a neuroscientist who investigates brain function and dysfunction using electrophysiological, optical imaging and computational approaches. His career ambition is to produce outstanding research of both local and global relevance, whilst developing African capacity in cellular neurophysiology and computational neuroscience. The primary aim of his research group is to answer the question: ‘Why do brains seize?’

The lab attempts to answer this question by examining the cellular and circuit level interactions between brain cells, which result in the development of epileptic seizures. They have a focus on how changes to inhibitory synaptic transmission and neuroinflammatory responses relate to the emergence and termination of epileptic seizures.

Key areas of expertise: Neurophysiology , epilepsy, synaptic transmission, plasticity, neurocysticercosis, patch-clamp electrophysiology, optical imaging, neuronal biophysics.

Selected publications:

See publications and profile on Research Gate.

Contact details:

Division of Cell Biology
Department of Human Biology
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Cape Town
Observatory 7925
Republic of South Africa

Email: joseph.raimondo@uct.ac.za

Alternate site: http://raimondolab.org

Group members:

Member Position
Thijs Verhoog Postdoctoral Fellow
Amalia Awala  PhD
Josh Selfe Msc
Eran Shorer  Msc
Roxanne Hattingh  Msc
Teresa Steyn Msc
Ilyaas Amien Msc
Sagel Kundieko Msc
Rachael Dangarembizi  Postdoc (now Lecturer at UCT)
Anja de Lange Postdoc Researcher
Hayley Tomes  PhD (now Scientific Communication officer for UCT’s NI)
Christopher Currin  PhD (now Postdoc at IST Austria)
Tariro Chatiza  MSc (now University of Edinburgh)
Sasha Tinelli  MSc (now University of Oxford)
Mazyar Nejat  MSc
Lamis Shuker  MSc
Richard Burman  MSc (now University of Oxford)
Kira Dusterwald  MSc
Buchule Mbobo  MSc
John Lee  Hons
Mbalentle Madlala  Hons
Maurits Van Den Berg  SSM
Sylvia Van Belle  MBChB Proj
Samson Salile  Visiting student


Christopher Dulla (Tufts University, United States of America)
Colin Akerman (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
Andrew Trevelyan (Newcastle University, UK)
Henry Markram (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Alan Kay (University of Iowa, USA)
Robert Wykes (University College London, UK)

Muazzam Jacobs (Division of Immunology, Department of Pathology, UCT)
William Horsnell (Division of Immunology, Department of Pathology, UCT)
Graham Fieggen, (Division of Neurosurgery, UCT)