Associate Professor Suraj Parihar

Department of Pathology

Associate Professor, Suraj P. Parihar, PhD (University of Cape Town)

Selected publications | Contact details | Group members Collaborations

- Contributing Investigator- Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Africa (CIDRI-Africa), Department of Pathology, Faculty of Health Sciences, UCT.
- Honorary Extraordinary Associate Professor, Human Metabolomics, North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa.

- Y2-rating, National Research Foundation (NRF), South Africa.

- Lead Academic and Chair Biosafety Level 3 Core Facilities, IDM, UCT.

- Chair, Faculty Biosafety Committee (FBC).

- Chair, Institutional Review Committee (IRC-Animal Research sub-committee).

Key areas of expertiseImmunology, Immunometabolism, Immunogenetics, Macrophage-Mtb interactions, gene-knockout and Kramnik mouse models, Host-directed therapies

Our research is focused on the mechanisms of macrophage-killing functions and host protective immune responses in Listeriosis and Tuberculosis. Using a loss-of-function approach, we are actively engaged in the identification of novel host factors exploited by intracellular pathogens to evade macrophage-killing mechanisms to survive in whole animal models. Subsequently, we assess the translational potential of identified host factors using patient clinical material. We use transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, repurposed drugs/inhibitors, gene-deficient and Kramnik animal model.

Selected publications:

See publications and profile on Research Gate.

Contact details:

Room N3.1.06, Wernher & Beit (North),
IDM, Faculty of Health Sciences,
University of Cape Town,
Anzio Road, Observatory 7925, Cape Town
South Africa

Phone: +27 21 650 4883

Alternate site: 

Group members:

Member Position
Dr Rudranil Hazra Postdoctoral Researcher
Sibongiseni Poswayo PhD Student
Saiyukthi Naidoo PhD Student
Robert Rousseau PhD Student
Thobekile Leyane PhD Student
Robert Ruhangariyo MSc Student


Prof David G Russell, Cornell University, Ithaca, USA

Prof Thomas Hawn, Washington University, Seattle, USA

Dr Maximiliano Gutierrez, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

Prof Musa Mhlanga, Radboud University, the Netherlands

A/Prof Bibhuti Mishra, Albany Medical Centre, Albany, USA

Dr Harukazu Suzuki, RIKEN Yokohama, Japan

Dr Makram Essafi, Institut Pasteur de Tunis, Tunisia

Prof Mirza Baig, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Indore, India

South Africa:
Prof Du Toit Loots, Northwest University, Potchefstroom

Prof Mohlopheni Marakalala, African Health Research Institute (AHRI), Durban